FG ap­proves 20 new Pri­vate Univer­si­ties, owners include Jim Ovia, Abacha, etc – PensionNigeria

FG ap­proves 20 new Pri­vate Univer­si­ties, owners include Jim Ovia, Abacha, etc

Federal Government of Nigeria has granted provisional licences to 20 new private universities to operate in Nigeria. The provisional licences were granted to the private Universities yesterday.

The Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, disclosed this at the end of the meeting. Adamu said the approved universities would get their provisional licences from the National Universities Commission. He said they would operate with the provisional licences “for the next three years while monitoring and evaluation will go on.”

The new universities are

Topfaith University, Mkpatak, Akwa Ibom State
Thomas Adewumi University, Oko-Irese, Kwara State
Maranathan University, Mgbidi, Imo State
Ave Maria University, Piyanko, Nasarawa State
Al-Istiqama University, Sumaila, Kano State

Mudiame University, Irrua, Edo State
Havilla University, Nde-Ikom, Cross River State
Claretian University of Nigeria, Nekede, Imo State
NOK University, Kachia, Kaduna State
Karl-Kumm University, Vom, Plateau State

James Hope University Lagos (owned by the Chairman of Zenith Bank, Mr Jim Ovia)
Maryam Abacha American University of Nigeria, Kano State
Capital City University, Kano State
Ahman Pategi University, Kwara State
University of Offa, Kwara State

Mewar University, Nasarawa State
Edusoko University, Bida, Niger State
Philomath University, Kuje, Abuja
Khadija University, Majia, Jigawa State
Anan University, Kwall, Plateau State

The approval brings the total number of private universities in Nigeria to 99.

error: Content is protected.