Lagos State Technical and Vocational Education Board (LASTVEB) Celebrates Retirees. – PensionNigeria

Lagos State Technical and Vocational Education Board (LASTVEB) Celebrates Retirees.

Lagos State Technical and Vocational Education Board (LASTVEB) has organised a sent-forth ceremony for 23 former staff of the Board who retired from active service in 2019.

Speaking at the event which attracted many of the retirees and their relations, Principals of the five Technical Colleges as well as members of staff of LASTVEB, the Executive Secretary, Mrs. Moronke Azeez said the evolving 21st century has necessitated a new vista and the need to revamp technical and vocational education in the State.

She said the State Government is working relentlessly at ensuring that the education sector becomes a top-notch, adding that the retirees should ensure healthy living and be wary of fraudsters who want to deprive them of their life savings in the name of investments.

According to Azeez, who was once in charge of Eko Project in the State, “contrary to the erroneous belief in some quarters, Technical Education is not for push-overs or drop-outs since students are also required to learn Physics, Chemistry, Biology, English Language and Mathematics as a prerequisite for NABTEB final exams.

She, therefore, urged parents and guardians as well as Secondary school leavers to embrace technical education, learn a trade and get skilled up towards becoming better citizens, stressing that Technical Education is indeed the bedrock of any developing economy like Lagos and Nigeria.

Responding on behalf of the retirees, a former Director Technical and Vocational Service (TVS), Mr. Olaolu Oguntuyi thanked the State government for its favourable disposition towards the welfare of retirees, pointing out that it is a privilege for them to have experienced the ceremony.

The event which was held inside LASTVEB premises, Ikeja, also involved the presentation of gifts items, plaques, awards and certificates to the retirees as well as best officers in the five technical colleges for their meritorious performance.

error: Content is protected.